L'Auberson

Switzerland



Address:
Grand Rue 23
l'Auberson
1454
Phone: +41 24 454 24 84
Fax: +41 24 454 41 66
Website: www.museebaud.ch

Musée Baud

Filled with enchanting wonders to delight both young and old alike, the articles in our museum are sure to provoke nostalgic memories of days gone by...

Spend an hour of enchantment discovering our exceptional musical pieces crafted between 1750 and 1940.

In our first room you will find music boxes, automata, clocks, singing birds, animated pictures and gramophones as well as other accessories, tools and souvenirs of the time period.

In our second room, one can admire the grandeur of our larger pieces while listening to these unique, priceless, mechanical musical instruments. Among the highlights include the famous "Maesto", an orchestra from 1900 comprised of 10 different instruments. Also in this room is the splendid "Phonolistz Violiona" playing solo violin. Many additional discoveries can be found as well, each one more fascinating than the one before.
It was in a home environment balanced by both farming and craftsmanship that three brothers were born and raised: Frédy born in 1915, Robert in 1917, and Auguste in 1924.

In 1946, in addition to their farming business, the brothers formed an association and in 1956 they began restoring antique music boxes.

Then on October 2, 1955 a long-time dream became a reality with the opening of their museum.


 Permanent Collection Highlights (7)

 Click on the images to enlarge







Opening hours

Open on Saturdays from 2pm to 5pm
Open on Sundays and public holidays from 10am to 12pm and 2pm to 6pm
Open daily from 1 July to 20 September from 2pm to 5pm

Open on request, minimum 10 persons

Duration of the visit 1 hour.




Facilities

In our gift shop you will find a large selection of souvenirs to suit every price range.

There are inlaid music boxes, tabatiers, singing mechanical birds, automata and animated musical watches.

Antique and recent productions are available.


News and events

The Musée Baud celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2005!