Permanent Collection - Musée d'Art Moderne

Permanent Collection - Musée d'Art Moderne

The collection follows a chronological path, with some necessary diversions to highlight the museum’s particularly significant works as well as those belonging to the museum’s donating patrons.

The collection can be viewed through four prinicple routes:

The Historic Route, beginning with 1901, traces the collection from the time of the museum’s opening in 1937, and the additions made to it thanks to the donations of Dr Girandin. Fauvist, Cubist and Surrealist works can be viewed.

The Contemporary Route, beginning in the 1960s, priviliges the recent aquisitions of the collection. It unfolds through rooms dedicated to New Realism (Arman, Cesar, Deschamps, Hains, Klein, Raysse, Villeglé), Fluxus (Ben, Brecht, Dietman, filliou, Roth), artists of similar intent (Broodthaers, Boltanski, Feldmann, Messager), and Figurative Narrative (Cueco, Erro, Fromanger, Monory, Rancillac, Schlosser, Stampfli).

Various modes of abstraction are presented, from the 1950s to the 1990s through works exploring the autonomy of painting (Barré, Buren, Hantai, Mosset, Nemours, Soulages, Toroni) and Support-Surface (Buraglio, Dezeuze, Viallat). Arte Povera is represented with the works of Anselmo, Paolini, Fabro, Merz and Penone.

The collection then explores the most recent motions, presenting works by artists experimenting with new materials and techniques, subverting codes of representation and not allowing their work to be restricted to a specific definition. This includes photography, video work, painting and sculpture dating from the 1980s onwards, in France and in the rest of Europe (Alys, Armleder, Brandl, Bublex, Bustamante, Eliasson, Fischli and Weiss, Frize, Gonzalez-foerster, Douglas Gordon, Gursky, Hains, Lavier, Sarah Morris, Moulene, Othoniel, Parreno, Polke, Richter, Ruff, Schiess, Schutte, Serralongue, Struth, Tatiana Trouve, Vercruuysse).

On the lower ground level, the Boltanski Room unites several works by the artist, and the Dark Room shows a program of recent video works (Absalon, Pilar Albaraccin, Fikret Atay, Rebecca Bournigault, David Claerbout, Seija Kameric, Marine Hugonnier, Ange Leccia, Melik Ohanian, Valérie Mréjean, Nicolas Moulin, Robin Rhode, Tania Mouraud, Anri Sala, Markus Schinwald, Rosemarie Trockel, Gillian Wearing, Clemens von Wedemeyer).

Outisde of the main collection are works in situ realised by artists at the time of the museum’s reopening (Jean-Michel Alberola, Bernard Joisten, Claude Leveque, Petra Mrzyk, Jean-Francois Moriceau) in The Matisse Room (and Henry Thomas collection),The Duffy Room and Niele Toroni’s Cabinet de Peinture.

< back to Museum's profile