Broughty Castle Museum
Broughty Castle sits imposingly at the mouth of the River Tay, on the east coast of Scotland. Built on 1496 on a rocky promontory, it has faced many sieges and battles. These have left their scars, with marks made by cannon shot still visible.During the 18th Century it fell into ruin to be rebuilt in the 1860s as part of the coastal defence system. It has been a museum of local history and war relics since 1969, run by Dundee City Council and maintained by Historic Scotland.
The Museum, set out on 4 floors, houses fascinating displays on the life and times of Broughty Ferry, its people, environment and wildlife. Visitors can take a journey through 400 million years with the delightful 'Brochtie' family and compare their lives with their ancestors.
The Orchar Collection is one of the most important collections of Scottish Victorian art in the country. It was built up by James Guthrie Orchar (1825-1898), a great patron of the arts and former provost of Broughty Ferry.
This exhibition returns some thirty of Orchar's paintings to permanent display in Broughty Ferry. It features work by artists of the Scott Lauder Group, famed for their gestural brushwork and love of colour, alongside 20th century paintings by Philip de Laszlo and James McIntosh Patrick.
April - September
Mon to Sat 10am-4pm
October - March
Tues to Sat 10am-4pm
Follow the A930 from Dundee along the coast towards. Broughty Ferry (approx 5 miles).
By bus take nos 39, 69, 73, 75, 77 from Dundee city centre to Broughty Ferry.
Shop selling a variety of gifts, cards and small souvenirs. Refreshment room selling hot and soft drinks.
As a fortified and listed building, we regret that Broughty Castle has very restricted access for people whose mobility is limited. Due to the spiral staircase access for wheelchair users is not possible.
Museum internal and external photos (8)
Click on the images to enlarge