C/ Poeta Querol, 2
Comunidad Valenciana
Phone: +00 34 96 351 63 92
Fax: +00 34 96 351 35 12

Museo Nacional De Cerámica Y Artes Suntuarias González Martí

The National Museum of Ceramics was set up in 1947 as a result of the donation to the State of the collection of ceramics of Manuel González Martí. This act gave way to the formal constitution of an institution that had been demanded by intellectuals for decades and reticently promoted by local administrations themselves. In fact, as Manuel González Martí himself was to say, the donation to the State represented, at that particular moment of history, the only way to guarantee the public exhibition and preservation of the rich heritage that he and his wife had managed to collect over the decades. However, before the creation of the museum itself, a Tripartite Commission for the foundation of the Museum of Ceramics (1940), presided by González Martí and made up by the City Council of Valencia, the Diputación Provincial and the Ministry for National Education, had managed to unite efforts for the purchase of the first piece of the future museum, the Florentine ceramics tondo from the Convent of La Trinidad, an extraordinary piece from the early 16th century.

In 1947, the State received the totality of the collection, initially installing the museum in the founder’s own home, who was in turn appointed Director for life. A few years later, in 1949, steps taken by Manuel González Martí led to the acquisition by the State of the Palace of Dos Aguas, at that time in neglected condition, for the exhibition of the collection of ceramics. After restoration, the ceramics went on display in the Palace in 1954, together with some original pieces from the palace itself, such as the Carriage of the Nymphs and the furniture of the Ballroom, the Porcelain Cabinet,... [ Read all ]

Permanent Collection

Once the building was restored, rooms for temporary exhibitions and didactic services were located on the ground floor and mezzanines. In the main rooms of the first floor it is possible to appreciate the recovery of the original ambience of the Palace of Dos Aguas, thanks in part to the original furniture, complemented with the necessary items to achieve a faithful reproduction when original ones were not available. In this way, the Palace, in itself the primary exhibit of the Museum, also becomes a splendid showcase for the Sumptuary Arts it contains.

The second floor has been reserved for the systematic presentation of the ceramics collection which summarises, with its more than three thousand items, the history of Valencian ceramics, not forgetting continuous references to the history of ceramics around the world. Exhibits from the same period, such as chests, sideboards, tapestry or coffered ceilings help us to recover part of the spirit of their time.


Standard 2´40€
Reduced 1´20€
Free on Public Holidays, Sundays and Saturday afternoons

Opening hours

Tuesday to Saturday 10:00 - 14:00 and 16:00 - 20:00
Sunday and Public Holidays 10:00 - 14:00
Closed on Mondays; 24, 25 and 31 December, 1 January, 1 May and two local festivities

Getting there

Buses: 26 -31 -4 -6 -8 -9 -11 -16 -27 -36 -70 -71
Underground: 3 – 5 (Colón Station)


Disabled facilities and entrance
Free guided visits in spanish

Museum internal and external photos (10)

Click on the images to enlarge