Museumstraat 35/37

Phone: +32 (0) 3/216.07.71
Fax: +32 (0) 3/216.07.80

NICC – New International Cultural Center

The main goal of the NICC is to defend the interests of the visual artists and the improvement of the position (in the most wide meaning of the word) of visual artists in society. The NICC works in two sections, the Artistic and the Social Commission.

The Social Commission functions in the field of the visual arts, with due of artistic surpassing of disciplines, as a base of support for artists and for all who are confronted with visual art and its surroundings in one way or another.

In all domains which have an impact on artistic activity, the Social Commission strives for more involvement of and participation by visual artists and more consideration for their reality and tangible needs. To that effect, the NICC has a profile of partnership in discussions with various authorities to work in dialogue towards a well-founded art- and artists’ policy.

The NICC’s Artistic Commission generates an investigative and varying programme of exhibitons, lectures and debates, in which mainly the position of the visual artist in the wide cultural field is focused upon. The Artistic Commission accepts external proposals and aims the development of wider modes of exhibiting that include as well established as less known artists.

Through this work, the NICC wants to contribute towards a process of awakening for the situation of the visual artist, and to exclaim the artist’s voice.


Artistiek programma: The Moss Gathering Tumbleweed Experience - 6 September 2007
The exhibition brought together by Hans Theys on the initiative of NICC in the framework of the artistic debate The Moss Gathering Tumbleweed Experience will be open during the upcoming nocturn in Antwerp.

With work from (in order of appearance) Leon Vranken, Damien De Lepeleire, Boris Beaucarne, Koen Deprez, Philip Catherine, Geert Goiris, Panamarenko (Afwasbak), Jürgen Ots, Bernd Lohaus, Philip Janssens, Yu-Sheng Ho, Austin Shull, Danny Devos, Fanny Zaman, Dennis Tyfus, Tomas Boiy, Michel François, Christophe Terlinden, Ann Veronica Janssens, Walter Swennen, Dimitri Vangrunderbeek, Boy en Erik Stappaerts, Luc Deleu & TOP Office, Viviane Klagsbrun, Tim Segers, Lode Geens, Guy Rombouts, Anne Daems, Kenneth Andrew Mroczek, Xiao Xia, Joaquim Pereira Eires, Lieven Segers, Jan Kempenaers, Clarina Bezzola, Andy Wauman, Xavier Noiret-Thomé, Machteld Bernaert, Lucia Bru, Ane Vester, Nadia Naveau, Céline Felga, Erwan Maheo, Martin Maloney, Pol Matthé, Vaast Colson, Wouter Bolangier, Fred Bervoets, Kris Vanhemelrijck, Mark Van Tichel, Chris Straetling, Harry Heirmans, Giles Thomas, Roel Jacobs, Lionel Estève, Robert Suermondt, Filip Denis, Christian Van Haesendonck, W. Vynck, gerlach en koop, Olivier Stévenart and Tamara Van San.

The exhibition welcomes new additions by Robert Suermondt, Fred Bervoets, Ann Veronica Janssens, Damien De Lepeleire, Andy Wauman, Christophe Terlinden, Erwan Maheo, Lionel Estève, Olivier Stévenart (O.S.T.S.A.),
Walter Swennen, Roel Jacobs, Dennis Tyfus, W. Vynck, Christian Van Haesendock and Wouter Bolangier.

Opening on Thursday, 6 September from 18h til...+ [ Read all ]

Exhibitions (15)

Click on the images to enlarge


Opening hours

Our offices are open from Tuesday through Friday from 10a.m. - 18p.m.

Museum internal and external photos (1)

Click on the images to enlarge